Dynamics and factors of life satisfaction of russians (1997–2017)


Latova N.V.

Cand. Sci. (Sociology), Senior Researcher, Institute of Sociology of the Federal Center of Theoretical and Applied Sociology RAS, Moscow, Russia myshona@rambler.ru

DOI: 10.7868/S0132162517120078
ID of the Article:


For citation:

Latova N.V. Dynamics and factors of life satisfaction of russians (1997–2017). Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya [Sociological Studies]. 2017. No 12. P. 65-78




Abstract

The basic characteristic of any society is the satisfaction of its citizens with their lives in general and its various aspects in particular. Based on the annual surveys (all-Russian sample involving at least 1600 persons per each survey) and the data of the Institute of Sociology monitoring (surveys are based on all-Russian sample involving 4000 persons and have been conducted twice per year since 2014), the paper provides an analysis of the crisis impact on life satisfaction of Russians. The article shows the evolution of total assessments of life satisfaction in 1997–2017 and determines the degree of satisfaction among the population of Russia, as well as the influence of socio-economic crises (2008–2009, and 2014–2016), analyses how life satisfaction is generally correlated with satisfaction in different spheres of Russians’ life. Such characteristics as «material well-being», «food» and «clothing», as well as «housing conditions» and «health status» are the key to the formation of this satisfaction. At the same time the satisfaction with life is the last thing connected with «the opportunity to realize oneself in the profession», «the opportunity to receive education and knowledge», «leisure opportunities», and «leisure opportunities during the holidays». The areas that are more stable and less susceptible to external influences are singled out: «relations in the family», «opportunities to communicate with friends» and «position (status) in society». The main conclusions are presented in the constructed models – in the «Good Life Model» and in the «Bad Life Model». These are the two diametrically opposite poles of life satisfaction, the first based on the modernist views and aspirations (a complex model of needs), and the second on the traditional views (the set of needs that is reduced to the task of survival). It is shown that «pulsation» (growth/reduction) of personal needs depending on the macroeconomic conditions is an effective socio-psychological mechanism that has long been established in the Russian culture and provides successful psychological adaptation of Russians to the crisis.


Keywords
satisfaction with life; crisis; financial well-being; comfort environment; social ties; fruitful leisure; self-realization; «Bad life model»; «Good life model»

References

Latova N.V. (2016) The impact of the crisis on Russians’ satisfaction with life and their social and psychological well-being. In: Gorshkov M., Tikhonova N. (eds). In: Russian Society and the Challenges of The Time. Third book. Moscow: Ves Mir: 41–64. (In Russ.)

Mau V.A. (2016) Russian economic policy in 2015: Anti-crisis measures or structural reforms. In: Sinelnikov-Murylev S., Radygin A. (eds). Rossijskaya ekonomika v 2015 godu. Tendencii i perspektivy. (Vyp. 37). [The Russian economy in 2015. Trends and prospects. Vol. 37]. Moscow: The Ye. T. Gaidar Institute for Economic Policy: 17–34. (In Russ.)

Ng Y. K. (2015) Happiness, Life Satisfaction, or Subjective Well-being? A Measurement and Moral Philosophical Perspective. Nanyang Technological University. URL: http://www.ntu.edu.sg/home/ykng/Happiness, LS,%20SWB‑2015.pdf (accessed 01.07.2017).

Ostroot N., Snyder W. (1985) Measuring cultural bias in a cross-national study. Social Indicators Research. Vol. 17. No. 3: 243–251.

Russian Society and Challenges of the Time. Fifth book. (2017) Ed. by Gorshkov M.K., Petukhov V.V. Moscow: Izdatelstvo Ves’ mir. Sogrin V.V. (2001)

Political History of Modern Russia. 1985–2001: from Gorbachev to Putin. Moscow: Ves’ Mir. (In Russ.)

Tikhonova N.E. (2014) The heterogeneity of poverty in modern Russia. In: Poverty and the Poor in Modern Russia. Ed. by Tikhonova N., Gorshkov M. Moscow: Ves Mir: 13–34. (In Russ.)

Tikhonova N.E. (2015) Russians’ life satisfaction: dynamics and factors. Obshhestvennye nauki o sovremennost [Social Sciences and Contemporary World]. No. 3: 19–33. (In Russ.)

Veenhoven R. (2006) The four qualities of life. Ordering concepts and measures of the good life. In: McGillivray M., Clark M. Understanding Human Well-being. Tokyo–New York–Paris: United Nations University Press: 74–100.

Content No 12, 2017

Динамика и факторы удовлетворенности жизнью россиян (1997-2017)


Латова Н. В.

Кандидат социологических наук, старший научный сотрудник, Институт социологии ФНИЦ РАН, Москва, Россия myshona@rambler.ru

DOI: 10.7868/S0132162517120078
ID статьи на сайте журнала:


Ссылка при цитировании:

Латова Н. В. Динамика и факторы удовлетворенности жизнью россиян (1997-2017) // Социологические исследования. 2017. № 12. С. 65-78.
DOI: 10.7868/S0132162517120078



Аннотация

Основываясь на данных ежегодных исследований и мониторинга Института социологии РАН, автор анализирует влияние недавно завершившегося экономического кризиса на уровень удовлетворенности россиян своей жизнью. В статье показана динамика общих оценок жизни россиян за период с 1997 по 2017 гг., определена степень этой удовлетворенности, влияние на нее последних социально-экономических кризисов (2008–2009 и 2014–2016 гг.). Проанализировано, как удовлетворенность жизнью в целом взаимосвязана с удовлетворенностью разными сферами жизни россиян. Такие характеристики, как «материальная обеспеченность», «питание» и «одежда», а также «жилищные условия» и «состояние здоровья» являются ключевыми в ее формировании. В то же время удовлетворенность жизнью меньше всего связана с возможностями «реализовать себя в профессии», «получить образование и знания», «проведения досуга» и «отдыха в период отпуска». Выделены сферы, которые более стабильны и менее подвержены внешним воздействиям: «отношения в семье», «возможности общения с друзьями» и «положение (статус) в обществе». Основные выводы представлены в построенных моделях – «Модель хорошей жизни» и «Модель плохой жизни». В основе этих противоположных полюсов лежат, с одной стороны, модернистские воззрения и устремления (сложная модель потребностей), а с другой, – традиционалистские. Показано, что «пульсация» (рост/сокращение) личных потребностей в зависимости от макроэкономических условий – эффективный социально-психологический механизм, давно сложившийся в российской культуре, который обеспечивает успешную психологическую адаптацию россиян к кризису.


Ключевые слова
удовлетворенность жизнью; кризис; материальное благополучие; среда обитания; социальные связи; досуг; самореализация; «Модель хорошей жизни»; «Модель плохой жизни»

Список литературы

Латова Н.В. Влияние кризиса на удовлетворенность россиян своей жизнью и их общее социально- психологическое самочувствие // Российское общество и вызовы времени. Кн. 3 / М.К. Горшков [и др.]; под ред. М.К. Горшкова, Н.Е. Тихоновой. М.: Весь Мир, 2016.

Мау В.А. Экономическая политика России в 2015 г.: антикризисные меры или структурные реформы // Российская экономика в 2015 году. Тенденции и перспективы. (Вып. 37) / Под ред. С.Г. Синельникова-Мурылева, А.Д. Радыгина. М.: Ин-т экономической политики им. Е.Т. Гайдара, 2016. С. 17–34.

Российское общество и вызовы времени. Кн. 5 / Под ред. М.К. Горшкова, В.В. Петухова. М.: Весь мир, 2017.

Согрин В.В. Политическая история современной России. 1985–2001: от Горбачева до Путина. М.: Издательство «Весь Мир», 2001.

Тихонова Н.Е. Гетерогенность бедности в современной России // Бедность и бедные в современной России / Под общ. ред.: Н.Е. Тихоновой, М.К. Горшкова. М.: Весь мир, 2014.

Тихонова Н.Е. Удовлетворенность россиян жизнью: динамика и факторы // Общественные науки и современность. 2015. № 3. С. 19–33.

Ng Y.K. Happiness, Life Satisfaction, or Subjective Well-being? A Measurement and Moral Philosophical Perspective // Nanyang Technological University. 2015. URL: http://www.ntu.edu.sg/home/ykng/ Happiness, LS,%20SWB‑2015.pdf (дата обращения: 01.07.2017).

Ostroot N., Snyder W. Measuring cultural bias in a cross-national study // Social Indicators Research. 1985. Vol. 17. No. 3. P. 243–251.

Veenhoven R. The four qualities of life. Ordering concepts and measures of the good life // Understanding Human Well-being / eds: M. McGillivray, M. Clark. Tokyo-New York-Paris: United Nations University Press, 2006. P. 74–100.


Содержание номера № 12, 2017