Life Success and Chances for Its Achievement in the Representations of the Russian Province Inhabitants


Reutov Е.V.

Cand. Sci. (Sociol.), Assoc. Prof., Belgorod National Research University, Belgorod, Russia. reutovevg@mail.ru

Reutova M.N.

Cand. Sci., (Sociol.), Assoc. Prof., Belgorod National Research University, Belgorod, Russia reutova@bsu.edu.ru

Shavyrina I.V.

Cand. Sci., (Sociol.), Assoc. Prof., Belgorod State Technological University named after V.G. Shukhov, Belgorod, Russia. shavyrina_77@mail.ru

DOI: 10.31857/S013216250009480-1
ID of the Article:


The reported study was funded by RFBR, project No. 18-011-00474.


For citation:

Reutov Е.V., Reutova M.N., Shavyrina I.V. Life Success and Chances for Its Achievement in the Representations of the Russian Province Inhabitants. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya [Sociological Studies]. 2020. No 6. P. 61-71



Abstract

Life success is a normative model of self-realization, based on the adaptation of socially significant values and prescriptions to individual life goals and opportunities for their achievement in specific social conditions. It is shown that the key parameters of life success for the inhabitants of the Russian province are family happiness and material well-being. The hyperbolization of family happiness and the prevalence of ideas about the impossibility of achieving success in the province without ties are “acquittal” factors of passive life strategies. Professional self-realization and career growth in the hierarchy of criteria of life success, at first glance, look peripheral. But an in-depth study of the prevalence of these vital goals shows their higher importance – especially for young people. The inequality of chances of achieving success in life is quite acutely recognized by the inhabitants of the Russian province both in relation to the economic and cultural “centers” – Moscow and St. Petersburg, and within the provincial society. The narrowness of labor markets, low level of wages in most branches of regional economies, the manifestations of nepotism, dissatisfaction with the conditions for obtaining quality education are factors intensifying of territorial-educational and labor mobility. Almost two thirds of the respondents demonstrate their readiness to leave their region for a long time or forever, and among young people this proportion reaches 9/10. The data obtained indicate further reproduction of the differentiated spatial development model, within which the province remains a source of various kinds of resources.


Keywords
province; spatial differentiation; regions; life success; territorial mobility

References

Kordonsky S.G., Plusnin Yu.M., Krasheninnikova Yu.A., Tukaeva A.R., Morgunova O.M., Akhunov D.E., Boykov D.V. (2011) Russian Province and its Inhabitants (a Case of Observation and its Tentative Description). Mir Rossii [Universe of Russia]. No. 1: 3–33. (In Russ.)

Lapin N.I. (2010) New Issues in Regional Communities Studies. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya [Sociological Studies]. No. 7: 28–37. (In Russ.)

Mareeva S.V. (2018) Life Chances of Population in Capitals and Provinces in Mass Consciousness. Monitoring obshchestvennogo mneniya: Ekonomichekie i sotsial'nye peremeny [Monitoring of Public Opinion: Economic and Social Changes]. No. 6: 365–385. DOI: 10.14515/monitoring.2018.6.17. (In Russ.)

Merton R. (2006) Social Theory and Social Structure. Moscow: AST: Khranitel'. (In Russ.)

Reutov E.V., Reutova M.N., Shavyrina I.V. (2019) Reciprocity in Mutual Aid Networks (on the Data of a Regional Study). Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya [Sociological Studies]. No. 3: 106–117. DOI: 10.31857/S013216250004283-4. (In Russ.)

Tihonova N.E. (2018) Stratification by Life Chances of Mass Strata in Modern Russian Society. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya [Sociological Studies]. No. 6: 53–65. DOI: 10.7868/ S0132162518060053. (In Russ.)

Temnitskiy A.L. (2019) Role of Work-life Balance in Achieving Life Success for the Hired Workers in Russia. Monitoring Obshchestvennogo Mneniya: Ekonomichekie i Sotsial'nye Peremeny [Monitoring of Public Opinion: Economic and Social Changes]. No. 3: 306–323. DOI 10.14515/monitoring.2019.3.17. (In Russ.)

Zvonovskii V.B. (2003) Russian Province: Mass Consciousness and Social Institutions. Obshchestvennye nauki i sovremennost' [Social Sciences and Contemporary World]. No. 1: 78–89. (In Russ.)

Content No 6, 2020

Жизненный успех и шансы на его достижение в представлениях жителей российской провинции


Реутов Е. В.

Кандидат социологических наук, доцент, Белгородский государственный национальный исследовательский университет, Белгород, Россия. reutovevg@mail.ru

Реутова М. Н.

Кандидат социологических наук, доцент Белгородского государственного национального исследовательского университета, Белгород, Россия. reutova@bsu.edu.ru

Шавырина И. В.

Кандидат социологических наук, доцент Белгородского государственного технологического университета им. В.Г. Шухова, Белгород, Россия. shavyrina_77@mail.ru

DOI: 10.31857/S013216250009480-1
ID статьи на сайте журнала:


При поддержке РФФИ, грант № 18-011-00474.


Ссылка при цитировании:

Реутов Е. В., Реутова М. Н., Шавырина И. В. Жизненный успех и шансы на его достижение в представлениях жителей российской провинции // Социологические исследования. 2020. № 6. С. 61-71.
DOI: 10.31857/S013216250009480-1


Аннотация

Жизненный успех рассматривается как нормативная модель самореализации, основанная на адаптации социально значимых ценностей и предписаний к индивидуальным жизненным целям и возможностям их достижения в конкретных социальных условиях. Авторами показано, что ключевыми параметрами жизненного успеха для жителей российской провинции являются семейное счастье и материальное благополучие. Гиперболизация семейного счастья и распространенность представлений о невозможности добиться в провинции успеха без связей выступают «оправдательными» факторами пассивных жизненных стратегий. Профессиональная самореализация и карьерный рост в иерархии критериев жизненного успеха, на первый взгляд, выглядят периферийными, но углубленное изучение распространенности данных жизненных целей показывает их более высокую значимость (особенно для молодежи). Неравенство шансов на достижение жизненного успеха достаточно остро осознается жителями российской провинции как применительно к экономическим и культурным «столицам» (Москве и Санкт-Петербургу), так и внутри провинциального социума. Узость рынков труда, низкий уровень зарплат в большинстве отраслей региональных экономик, проявления клановости, неудовлетворенность условиями получения качественного образования являются факторами интенсификации территориально-образовательной и трудовой мобильности. В результате готовность к отъезду из своего региона на длительный срок или навсегда демонстрируют почти 2/3 опрошенных (среди молодежи – до 9/10).


Ключевые слова
провинция; пространственная дифференциация; регионы; жизненный успех; территориальная мобильность


Список литературы

Звоновский В.Б. Российская провинция: массовое сознание и социальные институты // Общественные науки и современность. 2003. № 1. С. 78–89.

Кордонский С.Г., Плюснин Ю.М., Крашенинникова Ю.А., Тукаева А.Р., Моргунова О.М., Ахунов Д.Э., Бойков Д.В. Российская провинция и ее обитатели (опыт наблюдения и попытка описания) // Мир России. 2011. № 1. С. 3–33.

Лапин Н.И. Новые проблемы исследований региональных сообществ // Социологические исследования. 2010. № 7. С. 28–37.

Мареева С.В. Жизненные шансы жителей столиц и провинций в массовом сознании // Мониторинг общественного мнения: Экономические и социальные перемены. 2018. № 6. С. 365–385. DOI: 10.14515/monitoring.2018.6.17.

Мертон Р. Социальная теория и социальная структура. М.: ACT: ХРАНИТЕЛЬ, 2006.

Реутов Е.В., Реутова М.Н., Шавырина И.В. Реципрокность в сетях взаимопомощи (на материалах регионального исследования) // Социологические исследования. 2019. № 3. С. 106–117. DOI: 10.31857/S013216250004283-4.

Темницкий А.Л. Роль сбалансированности работы и семьи в достижении жизненного успеха у наемных работников России // Мониторинг общественного мнения: Экономические и социальные перемены. 2019. № 3. С. 306–323. DOI: 10.14515/monitoring.2019.3.17.

Тихонова Н.Е. Стратификация по жизненным шансам массовых слоев современного российского общества // Социологические исследования. 2018. № 6. С. 53–65. DOI: 10.7868/S0132162518060053.

Содержание номера № 6, 2020