Financial Self-Control:
Links with Credit Behavior and Individual’s Social Characteristics


Diomin A.N.

Dr. Sci. (Psychol.), Head of the Chair of Social Psychology and Management Sociology, Kuban State University, Krasnodar, Russia. demin@manag.kubsu.ru

DOI: 10.31857/S013216250009358-6
ID of the Article:


The study was carried out with support of the Russian Fund for Fundamental Research, project No. 18-013-01176 А.


For citation:

Diomin A.N. Financial Self-Control: Links with Credit Behavior and Individual’s Social Characteristics. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya [Sociological Studies]. 2020. No 6. P. 72-81



Abstract

The links between individual’s financial self-control and credit use, on the one hand, and its social characteristics, on the other, have been researched. The results suggest that financial selfcontrol is included in the use of different types of credit services and, thus, is part of the social process of crediting policies. Mortgage borrowers have the highest financial self-control, followed by consumer credit borrowers and by borrowers in microfinance institutions. Financial self-restraint, readiness to save, expenditures planning are among the self-control parameters that statistically significantly differentiate timely payers and debtors in all types of credit. Financial self-control indicators are closely related to the level of education, material status, family status and employment status, i.e. characteristics that are directly related to resources of individuals (material, intellectual, interpersonal). In this regard, financial self-control should be seen as an important complement to the social characteristics of credit users. It is concluded that the concept of financial self-control helps to reveal more adequately the content of financial activity of a person and may contribute to a productive interdisciplinary synthesis of economic sociology and economic psychology.


Keywords
credits; financial self-control; debtors; interdisciplinary approach; economic psychology

References

Achtziger A., Hubert M., Kenning P., Raab R., Reisch L. (2015) Debt out of Control: The links between Self-control, Compulsive Buying, and Real Debts. Journal of Economic Psychology. Vol. 49: 141–149. DOI: 10.1016/j.joep.2015.04.003.

Clayton M., Liñares-Zegarra J., Wilson J.O.S. (2015) Does Debt Affect Health? Cross Country Evidence on the Debt-health Nexus. Social Science & Medicine. Vol. 130: 51–58. DOI: 10.1016/ j.socscimed.2015.02.002.

Dejneka O.S. (2000) Economic Psychology. Saint Petersburg: SPbGU. (In Russ.)

Diomin A.N., Kireeva O.V., Pedanova E.Y. (2018) Debtors Attitude towards Credits. Sotsiologicheskie issledovaniya [Sociological studies]. No. 11: 85–94. DOI: 10.31857/S013216250002788-9. (In Russ.)

Dooley D. (2003) Unemployment, Underemployment, and Mental Health: Conceptualizing Employment Status as a Continuum. American Journal of Community Psychology. Vol. 32. No. 1/2: 9–20. DOI: 10.1023/A:1025634504740.

Gathergood J. (2012) Self-control, Financial Literacy and Consumer Over-Indebtedness. Journal of Economic Psychology. Vol. 33. Iss. 3: 590–602. DOI: 10.1016/j.joep.2011.11.006.

Jahoda M. (1982) Employment and Unemployment. A Social-psychological Analysis. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.

Kamleitner B., Hoelzl E., Kirchler E. (2012) Credit Use: Psychological Perspectives on a Multifaceted Phenomenon. International Journal of Psychology. Vol. 47. Iss. 1: 1–27. DOI: 10.1080/00207594.2011.628674.

Madera A.G. (2013) Forecasting of Credit Reliability of the Borrower. Finansy i kredit [Finance and Credit]. Vol. 19. No. 12(540): 2–10. (In Russ.)

Ottaviani C., Vandone D. (2011) Impulsivity and Household Indebtedness: Evidence from Real Life. Journal of Economic Psychology. Vol. 32. Iss. 5: 754–761. DOI: 10.1016/j.joep.2011.05.002.

Richardson Th., Elliott P., Roberts R. (2013) The Relationship between Personal Unsecured Debt and Mental and Physical Health: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. Clinical Psychology Review. Vol. 33. Iss. 8: 1148–1162. DOI: 10.1016/j.cpr.2013.08.009.

Sennett R. (2004) The Corrosion of Character. Novosibirsk: FSPI “Trendy”. (In Russ.)

Standing G. (2014) The Precariat: The New Dangerous Class. Moscow: Ad Marginem Press. (In Russ.)

Toshchenko Zh.T. (2018) Precariat: from Protoclass to a New Class. Monograph. Moscow: Nauka. (In Russ.)

Webley P., Nyhus E.K. (2001) Life-cycle and Dispositional Routes into Problem Debt. British Journal of Psychology. Vol. 92. Iss. 3: 423–446. DOI: 10.1348/000712601162275.

Webley P., Nyhus E.K. (2008) Inter-temporal Choice and Self-control: Saving and Borrowing. In: Lewis. A. (ed.) The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behaviour. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press.

Yurevich A.V. (2009) Macropsychological State of Modern Russian Society. In: Zhuravlev А.L., Yurevich А.V. (eds) Macropsychology of Modern Russian Society. Moscow: IP RAN: 279–300. (In Russ.)

Content No 6, 2020

Финансовый самоконтроль:
взаимосвязи с кредитно-заёмным поведением и социальными характеристиками человека


Дёмин А. Н.

Доктор психологических наук, заведующий кафедрой социальной психологии и социологии управления Кубанского государственного университета, Краснодар, Россия. demin@manag.kubsu.ru

DOI: 10.31857/S013216250009358-6
ID статьи на сайте журнала:


Исследование выполнено при финансовой поддержке РФФИ, проект № 18-013-01176 А.


Ссылка при цитировании:

Дёмин А. Н. Финансовый самоконтроль: взаимосвязи с кредитно-заёмным поведением и социальными характеристиками человека // Социологические исследования. 2020. № 6. С. 72-81.
DOI: 10.31857/S013216250009358-6



Аннотация

Исследуются связи между финансовым самоконтролем человека и использованием кредитов, с одной стороны, и его социальными характеристиками – с другой. Полученные результаты позволяют говорить о том, что финансовый самоконтроль включен в использование разных видов кредитных услуг и тем самым является частью социального процесса кредитования населения. Люди, взявшие ипотечный кредит, обладают наиболее высоким уровнем финансового самоконтроля, за ними следуют те, кто берет потребительский кредит, а замыкают ряд заемщики в микрофинансовых организациях. Финансовая выдержка, готовность к сбережениям, планирование расходов относятся к тем параметрам самоконтроля, которые статистически значимо дифференцируют своевременных плательщиков и должников во всех видах кредита. Показатели финансового самоконтроля тесно связаны с уровнем образования, материальным положением, семейным статусом и статусом занятости – характеристиками, которые имеют прямое отношение к ресурсам человека (материальным, интеллектуальным, межличностным). В этой связи финансовый самоконтроль целесообразно рассматривать как важное дополнение при анализе социальных характеристик людей, использующих кредит. Делается вывод, что понятие финансового самоконтроля помогает более полно раскрыть содержание финансовой активности человека и может способствовать продуктивному междисциплинарному синтезу экономической социологии и экономической психологии.


Ключевые слова
кредиты; финансовый самоконтроль; кредитные должники; междисциплинарный подход; экономическая психология


Список литературы

Дейнека О.С. Экономическая психология. СПб.: СПбГУ, 2000.

Дёмин А.Н., Киреева О.В., Педанова Е.Ю. Отношение должников к кредитам // Социологические исследования. 2018. № 11. С. 85–94. DOI: 10.31857/S013216250002788-9.

Мадера А.Г. Прогнозирование кредитной благонадежности заемщика // Финансы и кредит. 2013. № 12. С. 2–10.

Сеннетт Р. Коррозия характера. Новосибирск: ФСПИ «Тренды», 2004.

Стэндинг Г. Прекариат: новый опасный класс. М.: Ад Маргинем Пресс, 2014.

Тощенко Ж.Т. Прекариат: от протокласса к новому классу. Моногр. М.: Наука, 2018.

Юревич А.В. Макропсихологическое состояние современного российского общества // Макропсихология современного российского общества / Под ред. А.Л. Журавлёва, А.В. Юревича. М.: ИП РАН, 2009. С. 279–300.

Achtziger A., Hubert M., Kenning P., Raab R., Reisch L. Debt out of Control: The Links between Self-Сontrol, Compulsive Buying, and Real Debts // Journal of Economic Psychology. 2015. Vol. 49. P. 141–149. DOI: 10.1016/j.joep.2015.04.003.

Clayton M., Liñares-Zegarra J., Wilson J.O.S. Does Debt Affect Health? Cross Country Evidence on the Debt-health Nexus // Social Science & Medicine. 2015. Vol. 130. P. 51–58. DOI: 10.1016/j. socscimed.2015.02.002.

Dooley D. Unemployment, Underemployment, and Mental Health: Conceptualizing Employment Status as a Continuum // American Journal of Community Psychology. 2003. Vol. 32. No. 1/2. P. 9–20. DOI: 10.1023/A:1025634504740.

Gathergood J. Self-control, Financial Literacy and Consumer Over-Indebtedness // Journal of Economic Psychology. 2012. Vol. 33. Iss. 3. P. 590–602. DOI: 10.1016/j.joep.2011.11.006.

Jahoda M. Employment and Unemployment. A Social-psychological Analysis. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 1982.

Kamleitner B., Hoelzl E., Kirchler E. Credit Use: Psychological Perspectives on a Multifaceted phenomenon // International Journal of Psychology. 2012. Vol. 47. Iss. 1. P. 1–27. DOI: 10.1080/00207594.2011.628674.

Ottaviani C., Vandone D. Impulsivity and Household Indebtedness: Evidence from Real Life // Journal of Economic Psychology. 2011. Vol. 32. Iss. 5. P. 754–761. DOI: 10.1016/j.joep.2011.05.002.

Richardson Th., Elliott P., Roberts R. The Relationship between Personal Unsecured Debt and Mental and Physical Health: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis // Clinical Psychology Review. 2013. Vol. 33. Iss. 8. P. 1148–1162. DOI: 10.1016/j.cpr.2013.08.009.

Webley P., Nyhus E.K. Life-cycle and Dispositional Routes into Problem Debt // British Journal of Psychology. 2001. Vol. 92. Iss. 3. P. 423–446. DOI: 10.1348/000712601162275.

Webley P., Nyhus E.K. Inter-temporal Choice and Self-control: Saving and Borrowing // Lewis A. (ed.) The Cambridge Handbook of Psychology and Economic Behavior. Cambridge, UK: Cambridge University Press, 2008.

Содержание номера № 6, 2020